Robocup 2016
From 30.06. to 3.7. the Robocup 2016 takes place in Leipzig. As the HTWK Nao-Team was at the 3th place at last world cup standard league,
it's also one of the favourites this years event! Beside the matches the
Robocup fair is also presenting future technologies on robotics.

DARIAH Geo-Browser

SADE (Scalable Architecture for Digital Editions)

Annotation Sandbox

Textgrid Repositorien

The 3rd Meeting of the Association "Digital Humanities im deutschsprachigen Raum e. V." will take place from 07 to 12 March 2016 at the University of Leipzig. The general conference topic is "Modelling - Networking - Visualization: The Digital Humanities as interdisciplinary research paradigm.

During the conference, I participate in various workshops and talks. Below I will post interesting notes and web links.

On land, on water and in the air - in 2016 the dresdner schmalfilmtage hew off wheels of the car and look out for the migration and collection movements of the 20th and 21st centuries.
What follows 240 years after the Declaration of Independence on the wake-up call GO WEST, which was followed by millions Europeans? What follows on war, Arabellion and Fortress Europe?

The festival search for clues in Paris, Athens, Hamburg. It illuminated war conditions, architecture, new and old spatial utopias and connects the haptic pictures with the idea of Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité.

This year Students Conference in Informatics SKILL 2016 takes place at Klagenfurt on 29th and 30th September, as part of INFORMATIK 2016.
Computer science students of all disciplines can apply with a paper or poster. The papers will be published within the official conference proceedings part of LNI series. Authors are invited to present in Klagenfurt. We offer grants for travel and accommodation. Deadline for submission is 2 May.

Call for Papers

nullWill Hanley [1], a historian at the Florida State University [2], visits the faculty of Computer science, Mathematics and Natural science at Leipzig University of applied Science (HTWK). His research focuses on the legal history of the Middle East. Within his his one-month research visit, Will Hanley examined current research of the university-wide research group Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) [3] on their suitability for use for the development of scientific databases and related new collaborative research methods.

As part of a university open seminar "Software and Knowledge Engineering for the Semantic Web" on December, 12th at 9:30 am (GU 112), Will Hanley will present and discuss his relevant research work  within this field.

The research visit is supported by a grant of the DAAD.

Contact: Thomas Riechert

 

[1] http://history.fsu.edu/People/Faculty-by-Name/Will-Hanley

[2] http://history.fsu.edu

[3] http://aksw.org

Source: Pressestelle der HTWK Leipzig

HTWK and University of Leipzig offer joint computer science module
04.02.2015, Author: Reinhard Franke, Press Officer - Editorial PODIUM

With the beginning of this year summer term the Leipzig University of Applied Sciences (HTWK) and the University of Leipzig starts the first joint lecture within the joint module "Business Information Systems". On 7 April at 9.15 clock computer science students of both educational institutions sitting together at the auditorium 19 of the University - and their teachers, Prof. Thomas Riechert (Faculty of computer science, mathematics and science, HTWK), Prof. Klaus-Peter Ensign (Faculty of mathematics and computer science, University of Leipzig) and Dr. Stefan Kühne (Head of Research and Development at the University of computing center) come from both institutions.

The Teamwork is made possible by the joint project "ProKooperation" (Profile coordination and cooperation), which was launched last year. Background: With the Saxon Higher Education Development Plan and the university-specific target agreements the Saxon government forces a profile sharpening and strengthening in the higher education landscape.

"We want to create an efficient model of joint teaching and develop a best-practice model," says Christiane Zocher, responsible at HTWK side for "ProKooperation". Together with her colleague Dorothea Brown at the University of Leipzig she will participate in the first joint lecture on 7 April to present the background to the project the students. "Later, the experience gained in other subjects coordination and joint actions to promote students will be helpful," said Zocher.

As part of the Girls' Day 2015 I offer the workshop "Queries to Wikipedia" for interested students from the 8th to 11th grades.

Registration: http://www.girls-day.de/aktool/ez/eventvcard.aspx?id=20669

  • 9:00 - 10:00: Opening Ceremony: Welcome and Introduction of HTWK (University of Applied Science);
    Location: HTWK, Geutebrück Bau, Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 132, 04277 Leipzig, Room G 119
  • 10:15 -- 12:00: Workshop by Prof. Dr. Thomas Riechert
  • Faculty of Computer Science, Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Typically we use the Wikipedia Encyclopedia for search on information about certain concepts, events, cities or people. In computer science this kind of web information is also called resources.
In addition to textual articles, semantically structured information will be available on these resources, for example, provided using the so-called info boxes. During the workshop you will have a look on the data representation of the Wikipedia and we will learn to answer complex questions with the help of a semantic queries and corresponding computer science tools.

You are welcome to have your own questions that are not easy to answer with a simple Wikipedia search. The following Wikipedia article recommended in preparation for the workshop.

From 01.10. to 2.10. HTWK, the University of Leipzig, TU Cottbus and the Gesellschaft für Informatik (GI) organize the national Computer Science Student Conference - SKILL 2015.

SKILL 2015 is aimed to present students work of students of computer science and related disciplines with a focus on computer science. There are no topics set for the call, any contributions close to computer science topics are welcome.

Submitted papers will be reviewed by three members of the program committee. Accepted papers will be published in the Proceedings of the Annual Meeting of Gesellschaft für Informatik (GI) (INFORMATIK 2015). Outstanding contributions receive prizes.

Papers can be submitted until April 13, 2015. For questions regarding the preparation of the paper feel free to contact your supervising faculty or directly me. Detailed information about SKILL 2015 can be found on the conference website http://skill.informatik.uni-leipzig.de.

Within the winter semester 2014/2015 I teach the following courses at the HTWK and the Leipzig School of Media.

  • Computer science for civil engineers (1. Semester Bachelor Bauingenieur)
  • Computer Networks II / Internet-based information systems (5. Semester Bachelor Informatik/Medieninformatik)
  • Introduction to Scientific Writing (3. Semester Bachelor Medieninformatik)
  • Basics of Internet technologies (1. Semester Master Cross Media Management)
  • Basics of mobile e-business (3. Semester Master Mobile Marketing)

Am 29. und 30.09. findet die diesjährige Studierendenkonferenz Informatik in Klagenfurt statt (SKILL 2016). Die SKILL entwickelte sich von der lokalen "Studierendenkonferenz Informatik Leipzig" zur bedeutendsten im deutschsprachigem Raum.

http://skill.informatik.uni-leipzig.de

Die SEMANTiCS 2016 findet vom 12. bis 15. September an der Universität Leipzig statt. Das Programm der Konferenz umfasst 6 Hauptredner, 40 Industrie-Präsentationen, 30 Präsentationen wissenschaftlicher Beiträge, 40 Poster- und Demo-Vorstellungen und ein vielseitig gestaltetes Parallelprogramm. Hervorzuheben sind die Präsentationen von Thomas Vavra (IDC) und Sören Auer (Fraunhofer IAIS), der unter anderem den LEDS Track (linked Enterprise Data Services) unterstützt. Darüber hinaus wird es eine Fishbowl-Session zum Thema "Knowledge Graphs – A Status Update" mit Beiträgen von Hans Uszkoreit (DFKI) und Andreas Blumenauer (SWC) geben. Die Semantics 2016 wurde maßgeblich durch die Forschungsgruppe "Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web" an der Universität Leipzig, dem Institut für Angewandte Informatik und der HTWK Leipzig organisiert.

http://2016.semantics.cc

DARIAH Geo-Browser

SADE (Scalable Architecture for Digital Editions)

Annotation Sandbox

Textgrid Repositorien

Die 3. Tagung des Verbands "Digital Humanities im deutschsprachigen Raum e. V." findet vom 07. bis 12. März 2016 unter dem Leitthema “Modellierung - Vernetzung - Visualisierung: Die Digital Humanities als fächerübergreifendes Forschungsparadigma” an der Universität Leipzig statt.

Im der Rahmen der Konferenz nehme ich an verschiedenen Workshops und Vorträgen teil. Im folgenden werde ich interessante Notizen und Links an dieser Stelle publizieren.

Zu Lande, zu Wasser und in der Luft – 2016 schlagen die dresdner schmalfilmtage die Räder ab vom Wagen und halten Ausschau nach den Wanderungs- und Sammlungsbewegungen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.
Was folgt 240 Jahre nach der amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitserklärung auf den Weckruf GO WEST, dem Abermillionen Europäer folgten? Was auf Krieg, Arabellion und Festung Europa?

Das Festival begibt sich auf Spurensuche in Paris, Athen, Hamburg. Es beleuchtet Kriegszustände, Architektur, neue und alte Utopien des Raums und schaltet die haptischen Bilder mit der Idee von Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité kurz.

Auch im neuen Jahr 2016 wollen wir die Studierendenkonferenz Informatik - SKILL  zum Erfolg führen. Dazu brauchen wir Ihre Unterstützung!

Die SKILL 2016 wird am 29./30. September im Rahmen der INFORMATIK 2016 in Klagenfurt stattfinden.
Informatik-Studierende können sich mit einem Paper für die SKILL bewerben. Die Beiträge werden im offiziellen Tagungsband in der LNI-Reihe veröffentlicht. Autoren ausgewählter Beiträge können in Klagenfurt präsentieren. Hierfür bieten wir Zuschüsse zu Anreise und Übernachtung.  Deadline zur Einreichung ist der 2. Mai.

Call for Papers

null Will Hanley [1], Historiker an der Florida State University [2], besucht die Fakultät  Informatik, Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften der HTWK. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Rechtsgeschichte des Mittleren Osten. Im Rahmen seines einmonatigen Forschungsaufenthaltes, untersucht Will Hanley aktuelle Forschungsarbeiten der hochschulübergreifenden Forschungsgruppe Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) [3] auf deren Eignung zur Nutzung zum Aufbau wissenschaftlicher Datenbanken und damit verbundener neuer kollaborativer Forschungsmethoden.

Im Rahmen eines hochschuloffenen Seminars "Software- und Knowledge-Engineering für das Semantic Web" am 02.12. um 9:30 Uhr (GU 112) wird Will Hanley seine in diesem Bereich relevanten Forschungsarbeiten präsentieren und diskutieren.

Der Forschungsaufenthalt wird unterstützt durch einen Grant des DAAD.

[1] http://history.fsu.edu/People/Faculty-by-Name/Will-Hanley

[2] http://history.fsu.edu

[3] http://aksw.org

Quelle: Pressestelle der HTWK Leipzig

HTWK Leipzig und Uni Leipzig bieten Informatik-Modul gemeinsam an

02.04.2015, Verfasser: Reinhard Franke, Pressereferent - Redaktion PODIUM

Mit Beginn des Sommersemesters starten die Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig (HTWK Leipzig) und die Universität Leipzig in die erste gemeinsame Vorlesung innerhalb des kooperativen Moduls „Betriebliche Informationssysteme“. Am 7. April um 9.15 Uhr sitzen dann Informatik-Studierende beider Bildungseinrichtungen gemeinsam im Hörsaal 19 der Universität – und auch die Lehrenden des Moduls stammen aus beiden Häusern: Seitens der HTWK Leipzig gehört Prof. Thomas Riechert (Fakultät Informatik, Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften) zum Dozententeam, die Universität Leipzig ist durch Prof. Klaus-Peter Fähnrich (Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik) und Dr. Stefan Kühne (Leiter der Abteilung Forschung und Entwicklung am Universitätsrechenzentrum) vertreten. Das dazugehörige Praktikum wird ebenfalls kooperativ angeboten, genutzt werden abwechselnd die Räumlichkeiten beider Häuser. Das Modul ist für die Studierenden im Curriculum verankert, an der HTWK Leipzig als Wahlpflichtmodul und an der Universität Leipzig als Vertiefungsmodul.

Ermöglicht wird das Teamwork durch das Gemeinschaftsprojekt „ProKooperation“ (Profilabstimmung und Kooperation), das im Vorjahr startete. Hintergrund: Mit dem Sächsischen Hochschulentwicklungsplan und den hochschulspezifischen Zielvereinbarungen forciert die sächsische Landesregierung eine Profilschärfung und -stärkung sowie eine (landesweite) Abstimmung des Fächerangebotes in der Hochschullandschaft. Das nun gestartete gemeinsame Angebot zählt zur Pilotmaßnahme „Abstimmung des Studienangebotes im Bereich Informatik“.

„Wir wollen damit ein effizientes Modell gemeinsamer Lehre schaffen und zum Best-Practice-Beispiel weiterentwickeln“, sagt Christiane Zocher, die HTWK-seitig für „ProKooperation“ verantwortlich ist. Zusammen mit ihrer Uni-Kollegin Dorothea Braun wird sie an der ersten gemeinsamen Vorlesung am 7. April teilnehmen, um den Studierenden die Hintergründe zum Projekt vorzustellen. „Später sollen die Erfahrungen bei weiteren Studien- und Fächerabstimmungen und bei gemeinsamen Maßnahmen zur Nachwuchsförderung hilfreich sein“, so Zocher weiter.

Im Rahmen des Girls Day 2015 bietet ich für interessierte Schülerinnen der 8. bis 11. Klassen einen Workshop mit dem Titel "Fragen an die Wikipedia" an.

Anmeldung unter: http://www.girls-day.de/aktool/ez/eventvcard.aspx?id=20669

  • 9:00 bis 10:00 Uhr: Eröffnungsveranstaltung: Begrüßung und Vorstellung der HTWK Leipzig
    Ort: HTWK Leipzig, Geutebrück-Bau, Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 132, 04277 Leipzig, Raum G 119
  • 10:15 bis 12:00 Uhr: Workshop, Leitung: Prof. Dr. Thomas Riechert
  • Fakultät Informatik, Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften

Viele von euch nutzen die Wikipedia Enzyklopädie um Informationen über bestimmte Begriffe, Ereignisse, Städte oder Personen zu suchen. In der Informatik werden diese auch als Ressourcen bezeichnet.
Neben Texten beinhalten die Artikel strukturierte und semantisch ausgezeichnete Informationen über diese Ressourcen, z.B. in den sogenannten Infoboxen. Im Rahmen des Workshops werdet ihr die Datenrepräsentation der Wikipedia kennenlernen und mit Hilfe einer semantischen Suche und den entsprechenden Informatik-Werkzeugen komplexe Fragestellungen beantworten.

Gerne könnt Ihr zum Workshop eigene Fragestellungen, die mit einer einfachen Wikipedia Suchanfrage nicht beantwortenbar sind, mitbringen. Zur Vorbereitung auf den Workshop sind folgende Wikipedia-Artikel
empfehlenswert: