On land, on water and in the air - in 2016 the dresdner schmalfilmtage hew off wheels of the car and look out for the migration and collection movements of the 20th and 21st centuries.
What follows 240 years after the Declaration of Independence on the wake-up call GO WEST, which was followed by millions Europeans? What follows on war, Arabellion and Fortress Europe?

The festival search for clues in Paris, Athens, Hamburg. It illuminated war conditions, architecture, new and old spatial utopias and connects the haptic pictures with the idea of Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité.

This year Students Conference in Informatics SKILL 2016 takes place at Klagenfurt on 29th and 30th September, as part of INFORMATIK 2016.
Computer science students of all disciplines can apply with a paper or poster. The papers will be published within the official conference proceedings part of LNI series. Authors are invited to present in Klagenfurt. We offer grants for travel and accommodation. Deadline for submission is 2 May.

Call for Papers

The Workshop on Data Management and Electronic Resource Management in Libraries (DERM 2014) as part of the INFORMATIK 2014 has its focus on the transition from traditional information systems in libraries to web infrastructure using semantic web and linked data technologies.

The workshop organized in cooperation between the Leipzig University of Applied Science (HTWK), the Leipzig University Library, the Institute for Applied Informatics e.V., the Saxon State and University Library and the Avantgarde Labs GmbH, addresses both data, knowledge and software engineers, as well users in the IT departments of libraries and information providers and other interested users.

In addition to the accepted talks,

  • Design and Implementation of a Library Metadata Management Framework and its Application in Fuzzy Data Deduplication and Data Reconciliation with Authority Data
    Martin Czygan
  • AMSL – Managing Electronic Resources for Libraries Based on Semantic Web
    Andreas Nareike, Natanael Arndt, Norman Radtke, Sebastian Nuck, Leander Seige, Thomas Riechert
  • Quantitative Analyses in Global and Area Studies using Graph-based Filtering of Heterogeneous Catalogue Data
    Thomas Efer, Ninja Steinbach-Hüther

are two keynotes and a panel discussion will take place, in cooperation with other workshops on semantic technologies.

  • Programming the Global Brain Semantic Web: Large-Scale Graph-based Human-Machine Computation
    Abraham Bernstein, Universität Zürich
  • Graphs, Language & Metadata – Where Semantics and BigData Intersect
    Valentin Zacharias, codecentric AG

More information and the full program can be found here:

http://aksw.org/Events/2014/DERM2014.

The semantics is unique in its kind in Europe and reflects the fact that semantic information systems are used more often. Linked Data applications and methods of the Semantic Web enables companies and big organizations to link information and to make it searchable.

http://www.semantics.cc

The conference was primarily organized this year by the research group Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web. In addition to the main conference, there will be various workshops and events in Paulinum the University of Leipzig from Monday to Wednesday. The pre-conference events are free of charge!

http://www.semantics.cc/programme/workshops/

The SEAMNTiCS addresses users from industry and administration as well as developers, researchers and consultants. With the slogan 'Transfer / Engineering / community' in numerous talks and workshops concrete applications for industries, such as pharmaceuticals, media and automotive industries that use Linked Data or text mining technologies, will be discussed.

Inaugural Lecture: Die Bibliothek von morgen und das Web of Data (Prof. Thomas Riechert)

Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig (HTWK Leipzig)
Leipzig University of Applied Sciences
Faculty of Computer Science, Mathematics and Natural Sciences
...continue reading Inaugural Lecture Thomas Riechert, HTWK Leipzig – Die Bibliothek von morgen und das Web of Data

The First DBpedia community meeting will be held at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam on 30 January 2014. The focus of the meeting in addition is on the use of DBpedia in different areas. In a break-out session on Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage questions regarding use of DBpedia in the context of libraries will be discussed in the afternoon.

Vom 25. bis 27. November findet zum 5. Mal die Fachtagung Semantic Web in Bibliotheken organisiert durch das ZBW – Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft und Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (hbz) statt.

SWIB - Semantic Web in Libraries

...continue reading Semantic Web in Libraries (SWIB13)

As part of the project "Development of a data management platform for Linked Open Library Data and Eletronic Resource Management" funded by the European Regional Development Fund, the AKSW research group is collaborating with scientists at the University Library in Leipzig and the Saxon State and University Library on the develop of a triple store based data management platform. We are looking for experience developers to join the team.

http://dmp.slub-dresden.de
http://aksw.org/Projects/ERM

In the summer semester 2013 I offer the following mentoring dates for the module "Grundzüge der Wirtschaftsinformatik" of the Fernuniversität Hagen. All seminars are held in Regionalzentrum Leipzigat Städtischen Kaufhaus (Universitätsstr. 16, Aufgang B, 04109 Leipzig).

...continue reading Mentor Grundzüge der Wirtschaftsinformatik – Seminars summer semester 2013

Zu Lande, zu Wasser und in der Luft – 2016 schlagen die dresdner schmalfilmtage die Räder ab vom Wagen und halten Ausschau nach den Wanderungs- und Sammlungsbewegungen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.
Was folgt 240 Jahre nach der amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitserklärung auf den Weckruf GO WEST, dem Abermillionen Europäer folgten? Was auf Krieg, Arabellion und Festung Europa?

Das Festival begibt sich auf Spurensuche in Paris, Athen, Hamburg. Es beleuchtet Kriegszustände, Architektur, neue und alte Utopien des Raums und schaltet die haptischen Bilder mit der Idee von Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité kurz.

Auch im neuen Jahr 2016 wollen wir die Studierendenkonferenz Informatik - SKILL  zum Erfolg führen. Dazu brauchen wir Ihre Unterstützung!

Die SKILL 2016 wird am 29./30. September im Rahmen der INFORMATIK 2016 in Klagenfurt stattfinden.
Informatik-Studierende können sich mit einem Paper für die SKILL bewerben. Die Beiträge werden im offiziellen Tagungsband in der LNI-Reihe veröffentlicht. Autoren ausgewählter Beiträge können in Klagenfurt präsentieren. Hierfür bieten wir Zuschüsse zu Anreise und Übernachtung.  Deadline zur Einreichung ist der 2. Mai.

Call for Papers

Der Workshop Datenmanagement und Management elektronischer Ressourcen in Bibliotheken (DERM 2014) im Rahmen der INFORMATIK 2014 thematisiert den Übergang von traditionellen Informationssystemen zu einer auf dem Linked Data Web aufbauenden Infrastruktur in Bibliotheken.

Der in einer Kooperation zwischen der Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig, der Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig, dem Institut für Angewandte Informatik e.V., der Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden und der Avantgarde Labs GmbH organisierte Workshop adressiert gleichermaßen Daten-, Knowledge-, Software-Engineers und Anwender in den IT-Abteilungen von Bibliotheken sowie Informationslieferanten und weitere interessierte Anwender.

Neben den Beiträgen,

  • Design and Implementation of a Library Metadata Management Framework and its Application in Fuzzy Data Deduplication and Data Reconciliation with Authority Data
    Martin Czygan
  • AMSL – Managing Electronic Resources for Libraries Based on Semantic Web
    Andreas Nareike, Natanael Arndt, Norman Radtke, Sebastian Nuck, Leander Seige, Thomas Riechert
  • Quantitative Analyses in Global and Area Studies using Graph-based Filtering of Heterogeneous Catalogue Data
    Thomas Efer, Ninja Steinbach-Hüther

wird es in Kooperation mit weiteren Workshops zu semantischen Technologien zwei Keynotes und eine Paneldiskussion geben.

  • Programming the Global Brain Semantic Web: Large-Scale Graph-based Human-Machine Computation
    Abraham Bernstein, Universität Zürich
  • Graphs, Language & Metadata – Where Semantics and BigData Intersect
    Valentin Zacharias, codecentric AG

Weitere Informationen, sowie das komplette Programm, finden Sie hier:

http://aksw.org/Events/2014/DERM2014.

Die SEMANTiCS ist in ihrer Art in Europa einzigartig und trägt dem Umstand Rechnung, dass in den letzten Jahren immer häufiger semantische Informationssysteme zum Einsatz kommen. Linked Data Anwendungen und Methoden des Semantic Web helfen Unternehmen und vernetzten Organisationen Informationen besser zu vernetzen und auffindbar zu machen.

http://www.semantics.cc

Die Konferenz wurde dieses Jahr maßgeblich durch die Forschungsgruppe Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web organisiert. Neben der Hauptkonferenz wird es von Montag bis Mittwoch verschiedene Workshops und Veranstaltungen im Paulinum der Universität Leipzig geben. Die Veranstaltungen der Vorkonferenz sind kostenfrei!

http://www.semantics.cc/programme/workshops/

Die SEAMNTiCS spricht Anwender aus Industrie und Verwaltung gleichermaßen an wie Entwickler, Forscher und Berater. Unter dem Motto ‘Transfer / Engineering / Community’ wird im Rahmen zahlreicher Vorträge und Diskussionsrunden z.B. beleuchtet, welche konkrete Anwendungen für Branchen wie Pharma, Medien oder Automobilindustrie mit Hilfe von Linked Data oder Text Mining bereits implementiert werden konnten bzw. zukünftig generiert werden können.

Henri Knochenhauer vom AKSW und Roy Meissner präsentieren am Tag der Wissenschaften am 18.06.2014 die von ihnen im Rahmen einer Projektarbeit entwickelte HTWK-App. Die HTWK-App liefert plattformunabhängig verschiedene hochschulbezogene Informationen auf mobile Endgeräte.


http://www.htwk-leipzig.de/de/forschung-und-kooperation/tag-der-wissenschaft/programm/

Antrittsvorlesung: Die Bibliothek von morgen und das Web of Data (Prof. Thomas Riechert), Fakultät für Informatik, Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften
Prof. Riechert nimmt seine erste offizielle Vorlesung an der HTWK Leipzig im Modul Semantic Web zum Anlass, diese in einem feierlichen Rahmen im Filmtheater UT Connewitz zu halten.
...Weiterlesen Antrittsvorlesung: Die Bibliothek von morgen und das Web of Data

Am 30. Januar 2014 findet an der Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam das Erste DBpedia Community Meeting statt. Im Fokus des Treffens stehen neben wissenschaftlichen Fragen die Anwendung von DBpedia in verschieden Bereichen. Am Nachmittag werden u.a. in einer Break-Out Session zum Thema Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage Fragen zur Nutzung von DBpedia im Kontext von Bibliotheken diskutiert.

The 5th Semantic Web in Libraries Conference take place from November, 25.th to 27th organized by ZBW - Leibniz Information Centre for Economics und University Library Centre of North Rhine-Westphalia (hbz) in Hamburg.

SWIB - Semantic Web in Libraries

...Weiterlesen Semantic Web in Libraries (SWIB13)

Im Rahmen des Projekt "Entwicklung einer Datenmanagement-Plattform für Linked Open Library Data und Eletronic Resource Management" gefördert aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung wird die Arbeitsgruppe AKSW bis August 2014 gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftlern der Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig und der Sächsischen Landes- und Universitätsbibliothek eine auf einem Tripel-Store basierende Datenmanagement-Plattform entwickeln.

http://dmp.slub-dresden.de
http://aksw.org/Projects/ERM

Im Sommersemester 2013 biete ich folgende Mentoren-Termine im Modul Grundzüge der Wirtschaftsinformatik der Fernuniversität Hagen an. Die Seminare finden im Regionalzentrum Leipzig im Städtischen Kaufhaus (Universitätsstr. 16, Aufgang B, 04109 Leipzig) statt.

...Weiterlesen Mentor Grundzüge der Wirtschaftsinformatik – Termine Sommersemester 2013