The Bibliotheca Albertina will start the "Digital Humanities Day Leipzig" series, organized are the Saxon Academyof Sciences Leipzig and the University Library Leipzig. A wide variety of projects from the humanities and cultural scienceswill present and discuss their digitization concepts, while a poster slam and talks provide opportunities for exchange and networking. The event is open to all those interested.

pcp-on-web-logo
The research project PCP-on-web will start on April 1st, 2017, at the University of Applied Sciences in Leipzig. The project is an collaborative research project between computer scientists and historians in cooperation with the Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel The aim of the three-year project is the development and testing of a new methodology within the field of e-science, based on digital databases as sources for answering the research questions. The project is funded by the German Research Foundation.

The UNINETTUNO is inspired by the teaching model of NETTUNO Consortium, through which thousands of students since 1992 have graduated from a distance thanks to the adoption of telematics, and the international project MedNet'U (Mediterranean Network of Universities), funded by the European Commission under the EUMEDIS program, for the creation of a Euro-Mediterranean distance University.

It was established by decree of 15 April 2005 by the Ministry of Education, University and Research and releases academic qualifications legally recognized in Italy, Europe and some Mediterranean countries.

It has established links and collaboration agreements with universities around the world, which in some cases also lead to the provision of joint academic degrees or double degrees.

HTWK is Partner within LMPI-Project

lmpi

The LMPI project seeks to establish e-learning Bachelor's and Master's degrees for the protection of computer systems and networks in three Partner Countries, Vietnam, Moldova and Kazakhstan. In order to bridge skills gaps at both technician and engineering levels, the partners will develop a lifelong learning program in this area for employers. The curriculum to be developed will meet the needs of private companies which are seeking specialists to protect themselves against cybercrime.

http://lmpi-erasmus.net

nullWill Hanley [1], a historian at the Florida State University [2], visits the faculty of Computer science, Mathematics and Natural science at Leipzig University of applied Science (HTWK). His research focuses on the legal history of the Middle East. Within his his one-month research visit, Will Hanley examined current research of the university-wide research group Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) [3] on their suitability for use for the development of scientific databases and related new collaborative research methods.

As part of a university open seminar "Software and Knowledge Engineering for the Semantic Web" on December, 12th at 9:30 am (GU 112), Will Hanley will present and discuss his relevant research work  within this field.

The research visit is supported by a grant of the DAAD.

Contact: Thomas Riechert

 

[1] http://history.fsu.edu/People/Faculty-by-Name/Will-Hanley

[2] http://history.fsu.edu

[3] http://aksw.org

The First DBpedia community meeting will be held at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam on 30 January 2014. The focus of the meeting in addition is on the use of DBpedia in different areas. In a break-out session on Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage questions regarding use of DBpedia in the context of libraries will be discussed in the afternoon.

Vom 25. bis 27. November findet zum 5. Mal die Fachtagung Semantic Web in Bibliotheken organisiert durch das ZBW – Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft und Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (hbz) statt.

SWIB - Semantic Web in Libraries

...continue reading Semantic Web in Libraries (SWIB13)

Scientific work with digital media such as online publications and scientific databases, is leading to new areas of research and new methodological approaches. It expands research both through novel access method and a large amount of available information. One aspect is linking of such media and databases on the web using the Linked Open Data paradigm consequently, semantic interoperability can be achieved through an alignment of vocabularies in the context of each research domains.

The focus of the workshop is on vocabularies of different domains within the humanities and social sciences, its development and publication on the Web, as well as alignment methods. The workshop addresses both scientists in the field of humanities and social science, IT experts in libraries and computer scientists. ...continue reading CfP: Workshop on OWL vocabularies within the context of digital collaboration in research

  • September, 24th 2013
  • University of Leipzig
  • Thomas Riechert, Roland Bloch, Ulf Morgenstern

  • Scientific work with digital media such as online publications and scientific databases, is leading to new areas of research and new methodological approaches. It expands research both through novel access method and a large amount of available information. One aspect is linking of such media and databases on the web using the Linked Open Data paradigm consequently, semantic interoperability can be achieved through an alignment of vocabularies in the context of each research domains.

    The focus of the workshop is on vocabularies of different domains within the humanities and social sciences, its development and publication on the Web, as well as alignment methods. The workshop addresses both scientists in the field of humanities and social science, IT experts in libraries and computer scientists.

    http://aksw.org/Events/2013/DigitaleForschungskollaboration

    • Researchgroup AKSW – University Leipzig
    • Contact: Thomas Riechert
    • E-Mail: riechert@informatik.uni-leipzig.de

    ...continue reading Workshop on OWL vocabularies within the context of digital collaboration in research

pcp-on-web-logo
Am 01. April 2017 startet an der Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur in Leipzig ein Forschungsprojekt zwischen Informatikern und Historikern in Kooperation mit der Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel. Ziel des dreijährigen Projektes ist die Entwicklung und Erprobung einer neuen Methode in den Geisteswissenschaften, basierend auf digitalen Datenbanken als Quellen zur Beantwortung der Forschungsfrage. Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft.

https://pcp-on-web.htwk-leipzig.de

Die UNINETTUNO wird durch das Lehrmodell von NETTUNO Consortium inspiriert, durch die Tausende von Studenten seit 1992 von weitem durch die Einführung von Telematik und internationalen Projekt MedNet'U (Mittelmeer-Netz von Universitäten) studierte, gefördert von der Europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des EUMEDIS Programm für die Schaffung eines Euro-Mediterranean distance University.

Es wurde durch ein Dekret vom 15. April 2005 durch das Ministerium für Bildung, Universität und Forschung gegründet und veröffentlicht wissenschaftliche Qualifikation rechtlich anerkannt in Italien, Europa und einigen Mittelmeerländern .

Es hat sich auf der ganzen Welt mit Universitäten Links und Kooperationsvereinbarungen festgelegt , die in einigen Fällen auch auf die Bereitstellung von gemeinsamen akademischen Grad oder Doppelabschlüssen führen.

HTWK ist Partner im LMPI-Projekt

lmpi

Das LMPI-Projekt will E-Learning- Bachelor- und Master-Abschlüsse für im Bereich der Computer- und Netzwerksicherheit Netzwerken in den drei Partnerländern, Vietnam, Moldawien und Kasachstan etablieren. Um die Kompetenzlücken sowohl auf Techniker- als auch auf Ingenieurstufen zu überbrücken, werden die Partner ein Programm für lebenslanges Lernen in diesem Bereich für Arbeitgeber entwickeln. Das zu entwickelnde Curriculum wird den Bedürfnissen privater Unternehmen gerecht werden, die Spezialisten suchen, um sich gegen Cyberkriminalität zu schützen.

http://lmpi-erasmus.net

null Will Hanley [1], Historiker an der Florida State University [2], besucht die Fakultät  Informatik, Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften der HTWK. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Rechtsgeschichte des Mittleren Osten. Im Rahmen seines einmonatigen Forschungsaufenthaltes, untersucht Will Hanley aktuelle Forschungsarbeiten der hochschulübergreifenden Forschungsgruppe Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) [3] auf deren Eignung zur Nutzung zum Aufbau wissenschaftlicher Datenbanken und damit verbundener neuer kollaborativer Forschungsmethoden.

Im Rahmen eines hochschuloffenen Seminars "Software- und Knowledge-Engineering für das Semantic Web" am 02.12. um 9:30 Uhr (GU 112) wird Will Hanley seine in diesem Bereich relevanten Forschungsarbeiten präsentieren und diskutieren.

Der Forschungsaufenthalt wird unterstützt durch einen Grant des DAAD.

[1] http://history.fsu.edu/People/Faculty-by-Name/Will-Hanley

[2] http://history.fsu.edu

[3] http://aksw.org

Am 30. Januar 2014 findet an der Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam das Erste DBpedia Community Meeting statt. Im Fokus des Treffens stehen neben wissenschaftlichen Fragen die Anwendung von DBpedia in verschieden Bereichen. Am Nachmittag werden u.a. in einer Break-Out Session zum Thema Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage Fragen zur Nutzung von DBpedia im Kontext von Bibliotheken diskutiert.

The 5th Semantic Web in Libraries Conference take place from November, 25.th to 27th organized by ZBW - Leibniz Information Centre for Economics und University Library Centre of North Rhine-Westphalia (hbz) in Hamburg.

SWIB - Semantic Web in Libraries

...Weiterlesen Semantic Web in Libraries (SWIB13)

Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten mit digitalen Medien wie Onlinepublikationen und wissenschaftliche Datenbanken erweitert die bisherigen Forschungsgebiete und führt zu neuen Untersuchungsfeldern. Neuartige Zugangsverfahren und der Umfang an verfügbaren Informationen verändern das methodische Vorgehen und ermöglichen neuartige Zugänge. Ein Aspekt stellt dabei die Verknüpfung von Medien und Datenbanken im Web mittels des Linked Open Data Paradigma dar. Eine semantische Interoperabilität kann über eine Angleichung von Vokabularen im Kontext der Forschungsdomänen erreicht werden. ...Weiterlesen CfP: Workshop OWL-Vokabulare im Kontext digitaler Forschungskollaboration

  • 24. September 2013
  • Universität Leipzig
  • Thomas Riechert, Roland Bloch, Ulf Morgenstern, Alexander Mitterle

  • Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten mit digitalen Medien, wie Onlinepublikationen und wissenschaftliche Datenbanken, führt zu neuen Forschungsfeldern und neuen methodischen Vorgehen. Sie erweitern Forschungsgebiete sowohl durch neuartige Zugangs-verfahren und durch einen großen Umfang an verfügbaren Informationen. Ein Aspekt stellt dabei die Verknüpfung solcher Medien und Datenbanken im Web mittels Linked Open Data Paradigma dar. Eine damit einhergehende semantische Interoperabilität kann über eine Angleichung von Vokabularen im Kontext der Forschungsdomänen erreicht werden. ...Weiterlesen Workshop OWL-Vokabulare im Kontext digitaler Forschungskollaboration

    Das Netzwerk mit dem Namen Heloise ist es eine wissenschaftliche Community zur Erforschung der Europäischen Universitätsgeschichte seit dem Mittelalter, und wurde im Mai 2012 gegründet. Die teilnehmenden Wissenschaftler und Institutionen suchen nach technischen Lösungen (Methoden und Werkzeuge) zur Unterstützung der Zusammenarbeit in der Erstellung, Bearbeitung und Publikation von Daten und digitalen Archiven. ...Weiterlesen Atelier Heloïse 2013 – European Workshop on Historical Academic Databases

    Im Rahmen des Projekt "Entwicklung einer Datenmanagement-Plattform für Linked Open Library Data und Eletronic Resource Management" gefördert aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung wird die Arbeitsgruppe AKSW bis August 2014 gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftlern der Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig und der Sächsischen Landes- und Universitätsbibliothek eine auf einem Tripel-Store basierende Datenmanagement-Plattform entwickeln.

    http://dmp.slub-dresden.de
    http://aksw.org/Projects/ERM