nullWill Hanley [1], a historian at the Florida State University [2], visits the faculty of Computer science, Mathematics and Natural science at Leipzig University of applied Science (HTWK). His research focuses on the legal history of the Middle East. Within his his one-month research visit, Will Hanley examined current research of the university-wide research group Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) [3] on their suitability for use for the development of scientific databases and related new collaborative research methods.

As part of a university open seminar "Software and Knowledge Engineering for the Semantic Web" on December, 12th at 9:30 am (GU 112), Will Hanley will present and discuss his relevant research work  within this field.

The research visit is supported by a grant of the DAAD.

Contact: Thomas Riechert

 

[1] http://history.fsu.edu/People/Faculty-by-Name/Will-Hanley

[2] http://history.fsu.edu

[3] http://aksw.org

The First DBpedia community meeting will be held at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam on 30 January 2014. The focus of the meeting in addition is on the use of DBpedia in different areas. In a break-out session on Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage questions regarding use of DBpedia in the context of libraries will be discussed in the afternoon.

  • September, 24th 2013
  • University of Leipzig
  • Thomas Riechert, Roland Bloch, Ulf Morgenstern

  • Scientific work with digital media such as online publications and scientific databases, is leading to new areas of research and new methodological approaches. It expands research both through novel access method and a large amount of available information. One aspect is linking of such media and databases on the web using the Linked Open Data paradigm consequently, semantic interoperability can be achieved through an alignment of vocabularies in the context of each research domains.

    The focus of the workshop is on vocabularies of different domains within the humanities and social sciences, its development and publication on the Web, as well as alignment methods. The workshop addresses both scientists in the field of humanities and social science, IT experts in libraries and computer scientists.

    http://aksw.org/Events/2013/DigitaleForschungskollaboration

    • Researchgroup AKSW – University Leipzig
    • Contact: Thomas Riechert
    • E-Mail: riechert@informatik.uni-leipzig.de

    ...continue reading Workshop on OWL vocabularies within the context of digital collaboration in research

    The network named Heloise is a scientific community for the study of European university history since mediaeval times, was founded in May 2012. The participating scientists and institutions look together for technical solutions (methods and tools) to support collaboration in the adding, editing and publication of data for digital archives and catalogues. ...continue reading Atelier Heloïse 2013 – European Workshop on Historical Academic Databases

    Within the humanities a large number of information about individuals are be or will be obtained. The Workshop "More people - more data - more repositories" held by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (4th to 6th March 2013) is focused on linking of such digital research results.

    As part of the workshop a large number of scientists will present their research databases. Linking and the standardization of domain-specific vocabularies or schemas is the second main topic of the workshop.

    In a thematically table "Semantic Web" at 5th March (4pm) I will answer questions on the topic of the Semantic Web and have discussions on this. The focus of my talk "Vocabulary alignment patterns for the alignment of persons databases on the Semantic Web" at 6th March (9 am) is on using patterns for modelling of vocabularies so that they are aligned with other vocabularies.

    http://pdr.bbaw.de/veranstaltungen/pdr-workshop-2013

    Working Group for "German professor catalogue" decides developing a comprehensive historical research system

    The working group "German professor catalogue" held a workshop on 18th of January at the University of Leipzig. The group is represented by scientists from Leipzig professor catalogue and sibling projects of other German universities. The most important decision was to work on a joint application for a first three-year externally funded project to develop a common "German professor catalogue" from the Reformation to the present. Cooperation partner of the University of Leipzig, are the Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, the University of Rostock and the Herzog August Library in Wolfenbüttel. The Herzog August Library in Wolfenbüttel is providing the professor catalogue of the former University of Helmstedt. The aim of the project is to integrate data of the participating institutions. The professor catalogues of individual universities remain local and scientific search can be made from a common search system.

    As academic career paths in the past, usually led through several stages, the new catalogue will provide a variety of stimuli for the history of science research. Thus, historians trace in future vocation paths, historic landscapes formation or development of academic disciplines. Furthermore, the data can be linked with other biographical resources on the Internet, about the New German Biography, various biographical regional portals and the bibliographic data of the German National Library. This networking will lead to a significant simplification of research and highlighting the not yet visible connections.

    In Leipzig in 2006, a team of historians of the chair of Modern History and computer scientists from the "Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web" research group started the Leipzig professor catalog "Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensium". This all Leipzig professors recognized since the founding of the University in 1409 and documented their career and their academic achievements.

    Professor at the German catalogue initiative also works the team of Prof. Dr. Oliver Auge of the Department of Regional History with emphasis on the history of Schleswig-Holstein in the Middle Ages and early modern times, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel. These give rise to the 350-year anniversary of the founding of the university in 2015, an online catalogue of all the professors of the period 1919-1965. Founded in 1419 the University of Rostock took their upcoming anniversary as an opportunity to develop a catalogue of all their professors (Catalogus Professorum Rostochiensium), which is mostly already online. The Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel owns a large part of the tradition of the former University of Helmstedt and offers a portal with information about professors, courses, students and university publications of the once busy university.

    The "German professor catalogue" should form the central prosopographical platform for the German higher education landscape of the modern era.

    Contacts are

    Websites the professor catalogues:

    The planed catalogue:

    http://www.deutscher-professorenkatalog.uni-kiel.de

    The Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE) and the Jean Monnet Chair in History of European Integration and its Research Programme ‘Digital Humanities Luxembourg' -DIHULUX (research unit Identités-Politiques-Sociétés-Espaces [IPSE]), organised the DHLU Symposium 2012.

    This Symposium addressed both methodological aspects and the theoretical and institutional implications of the public dissemination of research results, focusing on digitised and online published sources as well as on websites themselves, which will be analysed as born digital sources. The potential of this innovative research approach was also be explored and emphasised.

    Together with Christian Rau, we presented the Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis.
    The talk is available online.

    During the Symposium participation on twitter was very high....

    Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Main Building
    September, 14th 2011 - September, 15th  2011

    The conference .hist 2011 – Geschichte im digitalen Wandel is hosted by H-Soz-u-Kult and Clio-online, together with L.I.S.A. - The science portal of the Gerda Henkel Foundation at the Humboldt University in Berlin.

    As part of the workshop report, "Networked Knowledge / Semantic Web", I will present current research of our group.

    Abstract

    The research group Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) at the University of Leipzig is dealing with methods for agile knowledge engineering and semantic integration of information on the web. Based on the Wikipedia extraction DBpedia the expanding of the Linked Open Data Cloud is on the main focus of our current research (LOD2). The semantic data-based Wiki OntoWiki, developed by the AKSW group is a basic tool for the publication of semantic information. OntoWiki is already used for historical scientific projects. One of this is the Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis. In this workshop report, the collaborative development of an ontology, the collaborative information gathering and publishing of data with the help of OntoWiki is presented on the example of the Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis.

    Program on September, 14th

    13:30-14:30 Keynote

    • Stefan Münker (Humboldt University Berlin): Beyond the technology. To the status quo of digital change

    15:00-16:45

    • Section 1: Virtual Research Studies and History 2.0
    • Workshop Reports I: "Networked Knowledge / Semantic Web"

    17:15-19:00

    • Panel I: "History and its Digital Professional Information: What facilities do the historical sciences?"

    Evening Reception from 19:00

    Program on September, 15th

    09:00-10:45

    • Section 2: Source Criticism and Digital Data Driven Histor
    • Workshop II report: "Virtual Research Environments"

    11:15-13:00

    • Section 3: Mediumship and narrativity
    • Workshop III reports: "Technical information for the historical sciences"

    14:00-15:45

    • Section 4: shifting boundaries between science and public
    • Workshop IV reports: "Information Infrastructures for the historical sciences"

    16:15-18:00

    • Panel II: "History and its digital media coverage: What media skills do historians / inside?"

    18:00 End of event

    The idea of the project "LinkedHistory" derived during our research on prosopographical knowledgebases. We set up together with historians of the University of Leipzig the Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis project. This projects contains detailed informations about more then 2000 professors in the university history.

    To enable collaborative research in the field of prosopographical research existing databases have to be interlinked. Within this project, the AKSW research group and the group of the professors cataloge is developing some services to support this idea.

    The first established service uses the PND-key to interlink persons.

    Detailed Information

    The second service provides interlinking of calender years.

    Detailed Information

    Christian Augustin and Ulf Morgenstern and Thomas Riechert: Der Leipziger Professorenkatalog. Ein Anwendungsbeispiel für kollaboratives Strukturieren von Daten und zeitnahes Publizieren von Ergebnissen basierend auf Technologien des Semantic Web und einer agilen Methode des Wissensmanagements. In: Silke Schomburg and Claus Leggewie and Henning Lobin and Cornelius Puschmann, editors, Digitale Wissenschaft - Stand und Entwicklung digital vernetzter Forschung in Deutschland p. 41-44. Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, Köln, 2011. BibTex

    Abstract:

    Der Beitrag gibt einen Überblick über das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis, das kollektivbiographische Zugänge der Wissenschafts- und Universitätsgeschichte auf innovative Weise mit Technologien des Semantic Web verbindet. Erläutert werden die geschichtswissenschaftlichen Implikationen sowie die Architektur und Funktionsweise des Professorenkatalogs.

null Will Hanley [1], Historiker an der Florida State University [2], besucht die Fakultät  Informatik, Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften der HTWK. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Rechtsgeschichte des Mittleren Osten. Im Rahmen seines einmonatigen Forschungsaufenthaltes, untersucht Will Hanley aktuelle Forschungsarbeiten der hochschulübergreifenden Forschungsgruppe Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) [3] auf deren Eignung zur Nutzung zum Aufbau wissenschaftlicher Datenbanken und damit verbundener neuer kollaborativer Forschungsmethoden.

Im Rahmen eines hochschuloffenen Seminars "Software- und Knowledge-Engineering für das Semantic Web" am 02.12. um 9:30 Uhr (GU 112) wird Will Hanley seine in diesem Bereich relevanten Forschungsarbeiten präsentieren und diskutieren.

Der Forschungsaufenthalt wird unterstützt durch einen Grant des DAAD.

[1] http://history.fsu.edu/People/Faculty-by-Name/Will-Hanley

[2] http://history.fsu.edu

[3] http://aksw.org

Am 30. Januar 2014 findet an der Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam das Erste DBpedia Community Meeting statt. Im Fokus des Treffens stehen neben wissenschaftlichen Fragen die Anwendung von DBpedia in verschieden Bereichen. Am Nachmittag werden u.a. in einer Break-Out Session zum Thema Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage Fragen zur Nutzung von DBpedia im Kontext von Bibliotheken diskutiert.

  • 24. September 2013
  • Universität Leipzig
  • Thomas Riechert, Roland Bloch, Ulf Morgenstern, Alexander Mitterle

  • Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten mit digitalen Medien, wie Onlinepublikationen und wissenschaftliche Datenbanken, führt zu neuen Forschungsfeldern und neuen methodischen Vorgehen. Sie erweitern Forschungsgebiete sowohl durch neuartige Zugangs-verfahren und durch einen großen Umfang an verfügbaren Informationen. Ein Aspekt stellt dabei die Verknüpfung solcher Medien und Datenbanken im Web mittels Linked Open Data Paradigma dar. Eine damit einhergehende semantische Interoperabilität kann über eine Angleichung von Vokabularen im Kontext der Forschungsdomänen erreicht werden. ...Weiterlesen Workshop OWL-Vokabulare im Kontext digitaler Forschungskollaboration

    Das Netzwerk mit dem Namen Heloise ist es eine wissenschaftliche Community zur Erforschung der Europäischen Universitätsgeschichte seit dem Mittelalter, und wurde im Mai 2012 gegründet. Die teilnehmenden Wissenschaftler und Institutionen suchen nach technischen Lösungen (Methoden und Werkzeuge) zur Unterstützung der Zusammenarbeit in der Erstellung, Bearbeitung und Publikation von Daten und digitalen Archiven. ...Weiterlesen Atelier Heloïse 2013 – European Workshop on Historical Academic Databases

    Als Gegenstand der Forschung oder in deren Ergebnis werden in den Geisteswissenschaften eine Vielzahl von Erkenntnissen über Personen gewonnen. Der an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften vom 4. bis 6. März 2013 stattfindenden Workshop „Mehr Personen – Mehr Daten – Mehr Repositorien“, setzt sich mit der Verknüpfung der digital vorliegenden Forschungsergebnisse auseinander.

    Im Rahmen des Workshops werden werden nicht nur eine Vielzahl von Wissenschaftlern ihrer Forschungsdatenbanken präsentieren, es geht darüber hinaus auch um Verlinkung und die Vereinheitlichungen von domänenspezifischen Vokabularen oder Schemata.

    Im Rahmen eines Thementisches „Semantic Web“ am 5.3. (16-18 Uhr) werde ich Fragen rund um das Thema Semantic Web beantworten und diskutieren. Im Fokus meines Vortrags „Vokabular-Alignment Muster für die Angleichung von Personendatenbanken im Semantic Web“ am 6.3. (9 Uhr) steht die Modellierung von Vokabularen die Verwendung von Mustern zum Alignment mit anderen Vokabularen.

    http://pdr.bbaw.de/veranstaltungen/pdr-workshop-2013

    Arbeitsgemeinschaft „Deutscher Professorenkatalog“ beschließt Entwicklung eines umfassenden historischen Recherchesystems

    An der Universität Leipzig tagte am 18. Januar die Arbeitsgemeinschaft „Deutscher Professorenkatalog“. Vertreten waren neben den Betreibern des Leipziger Professorenkatalogs Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Geschwisterprojekten anderer deutscher Universitäten. Wichtigster Beschluss war die gemeinsame Beantragung eines zunächst auf drei Jahre angelegten Drittmittelprojekts zur Entwicklung eines gemeinsamen „Deutschen Professorenkatalogs“ von der Reformation bis zur Gegenwart. Kooperationspartner der Universität Leipzig sind dabei die Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel und die Universität Rostock sowie die Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel, die den Professorenkatalog der ehemaligen Universität Helmstedt einbringt. Ziel des Projekts ist die Zusammenführung der Daten der beteiligten Institutionen. Die Professorenkataloge der einzelnen Universitäten bleiben dabei erhalten und können vom gemeinsamen Recherchesystem aus aufgerufen werden.

    Da akademische Karrierewege schon in der Vergangenheit meist über mehrere Stationen führten, wird der neue Gesamtkatalog vielfältige Impulse für die wissenschaftsgeschichtliche Forschung erbringen. So können Historiker in Zukunft Berufungswegen, historischen Bildungslandschaften oder der Entwicklung akademischer Disziplinen nachspüren. Darüber hinaus sollen die Daten mit weiteren biographischen Ressourcen im Internet verknüpft werden, etwa mit der Neuen Deutschen Biographie, den verschiedenen biographischen Regionalportalen sowie den bibliographischen Daten der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek. Diese Vernetzung wird zu einer erheblichen Vereinfachung der Recherche sowie dem Aufzeigen bislang nicht sichtbarer Zusammenhänge führen.

    In Leipzig arbeitet seit 2006 ein Team aus Historikern des Lehrstuhls für Neuere und Neueste Geschichte und Informatikern der Arbeitsgruppe „Agile Knowledgement Engineering and Semantic Web“ am Leipziger Professorenkatalog „Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensium“. Dieser erfasst alle Leipziger Professoren seit der Gründung der Universität im Jahr 1409 und dokumentiert ihren Werdegang und ihre wissenschaftlichen Leistungen.

    Am Deutschen Professorenkatalog arbeitet initiativ auch das Team von Prof. Dr. Oliver Auge vom Lehrstuhl für Regionalgeschichte mit Schwerpunkt zur Geschichte Schleswig-Holsteins in Mittelalter und Früher Neuzeit der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel mit. Dort entsteht zum 350-jährigen Jubiläum der Universitätsgründung im Jahre 2015 ein Onlinekatalog sämtlicher Professoren des Zeitraums 1919-1965. Auch die 1419 gegründete Universität Rostock nahm ihr anstehendes Jubiläum zum Anlass zur Entwicklung eines Katalogs ihrer sämtlichen Professoren (Catalogus Professorum Rostochiensium), der zum größten Teil bereits online ist. Die Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel besitzt einen großen Teil der Überlieferung der ehemaligen Universität Helmstedt und bietet ein Internetportal mit Informationen zu Professoren, Lehrveranstaltungen, Studenten und Hochschulschriften der einstmals hochfrequentierten Universität an.

    Der „Deutsche Professorenkatalog“ soll die zentrale prosopographische Plattform für die deutsche Hochschullandschaft der Neuzeit bilden.

    Ansprechpartner sind

    Homepages der Professorenkataloge:

    Der Gesamtkatalog:

    Das Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE) und der Jean Monnet Lehrstuhl für Geschichte der Europäischen Integration und das Forschungsprogramm ‘Digital Humanities Luxembourg' - DIHULUX (research unit Identités-Politiques-Sociétés-Espaces [IPSE]), organisierte vom 20.-21.03.2012 das DHLU Symposium 2012.

    Das Symposium adressiert sowohl methodische Aspekte und die theoretischen und institutionellen Auswirkungen der öffentlichen Verbreitung von Forschungsergebnissen aus digitalisierten und online veröffentlichte Quellen, sowie auf Webseiten. Das Potential dieser innovativen Forschungsansatz wird ebenfalls untersucht und hervorgehoben.

    Zusammen mit Christian Rau haben wir den Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis präsentiert.
    Der Vortrag ist hier verfügar.

    Während des Symposiums wurde viel getwittert...

    Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Hauptgebäude
    14. September 2011 – 15. September 2011

    Die Tagung .hist 2011 – Geschichte im digitalen Wandel wird veranstaltet von H-Soz-u-Kult und Clio-online gemeinsam mit L.I.S.A. - Das Wissenschaftsportal der Gerda Henkel Stiftung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

    Im Rahmen der Werkstattberichte "Vernetztes Wissen / Semantic Web" werde ich aktuelle Forschungsarbeiten unserer Arbeitsgruppe vorstellen.

    Abstrakt

    Die Arbeitsgruppe Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web (AKSW) der Universität Leipzig befasst sich in ihrer Forschungsarbeit mit Methoden der agilen Wissensmodellierung und der semantischen Vernetzung von Informationen im Web. Aufbauend auf der Wikipedia-Extraktion DBpedia steht aktuell die Erweiterung der Linked Open Data Cloud im Fokus der Forschung (LOD2). Das von der Arbeitsgruppe entwickelte semantisches Daten-Wiki OntoWiki stellt ein Basiswerkzeug für die Publikation semantischer Information dar. OntoWiki wird bereits mehrfach für geschichtswissenschaftliche Projekte eingesetzt, so u.a. auch bei der kollaborativen Arbeit von Historikern der Arbeitsgruppe des Leipziger Professorenkatalogs. Anhand des Anwendungsbeispiels Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis wird im Rahmen des Werkstattberichts das kollaboratives Entwickeln einer Ontologie, das kollaboratives Sammeln von Informationen und das Publizieren von Daten mit Hilfe von OntoWiki vorgestellt.

    http://www2.hu-berlin.de/historisches-forschungsnetz/tagung/Abstracts/WerkstattI-Riechert-Agile_Knowledge.pdf

     

    Programm am 14. September

    13:00-13:30 Uhr Begrüßung und Eröffnung

    13:30-14:30 Uhr Keynote

    • Stefan Münker (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin): Jenseits der Technik. Zum Status quo des digitalen Wandels

    15:00-16:45 Uhr

    • Sektion 1: Virtuelle Forschung und Geschichtswissenschaften 2.0
    • Werkstattberichte I: „Vernetztes Wissen / Semantic Web“

    17:15-19:00 Uhr

    • Podiumsdiskussion I: "Geschichte und ihre digitale Fachinformation: Welche Infrastrukturen brauchen die Geschichtswissenschaften?"

    ab 19:00 Uhr Abendempfang

    Programm 15. September

    09:00-10:45 Uhr

    • Sektion 2: Digitale Quellenkritik und Data Driven History
    • Werkstattberichte II: „Virtuelle Forschungsumgebungen“

    11:15-13:00 Uhr

    • Sektion 3: Medialität und Narrativität
    • Werkstattberichte III: „Fachinformationen für die Geschichtswissenschaften“

    14:00-15:45 Uhr

    • Sektion 4: Grenzverschiebungen zwischen Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit
    • Werkstattberichte IV: „Informations-Infrastrukturen für die Geschichtswissenschaften“

    16:15-18:00 Uhr

    • Podiumsdiskussion II: " Geschichte und ihre digitale Medialisierung: Welche Medienkompetenz brauchen Historiker/innen?"

    18:00 Uhr Ende der Veranstaltung

    Das Projekt "LinkedHistory" entstand während unserer Arbeiten im Bereich prosopographischen Wissensdatenbanken. Zusammen mit Historikern der Universität Leipzig haben wir den die Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis entwickelt. Der Professorenkatalog enthält detaillierte Informationen über mehr als 2000 Professoren in der universitären Geschichte.

    Ein Problem im Rahmen prosopographische Forschung ist die kollaborative Zusammenarbeit der Wissenschaftler. Hierführ müssen vor allem Techniken zur Verknüpfung bestehender Daten bzw. Wissensbanken geschaffen werden.

    Im Rahmen dieses Projektes entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe AKSW zusammen mit Historikeren Dienste, zur Verknüpfung von Webressourcen.

    Der ersten etablierte Dienst nutzt den PND-Schlüssel, um Personen zu vernetzen.

    Ausführliche Informationen

    Der zweite Dienst stellt Kalenderjahre als Ressourcen zur Verfügung.

    Ausführliche Informationen

    Christian Augustin and Ulf Morgenstern and Thomas Riechert: Der Leipziger Professorenkatalog. Ein Anwendungsbeispiel für kollaboratives Strukturieren von Daten und zeitnahes Publizieren von Ergebnissen basierend auf Technologien des Semantic Web und einer agilen Methode des Wissensmanagements. In: Silke Schomburg and Claus Leggewie and Henning Lobin and Cornelius Puschmann, editors, Digitale Wissenschaft - Stand und Entwicklung digital vernetzter Forschung in Deutschland p. 41-44. Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, Köln, 2011. BibTex

    Abstract:

    Der Beitrag gibt einen Überblick über das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis, das kollektivbiographische Zugänge der Wissenschafts- und Universitätsgeschichte auf innovative Weise mit Technologien des Semantic Web verbindet. Erläutert werden die geschichtswissenschaftlichen Implikationen sowie die Architektur und Funktionsweise des Professorenkatalogs.