The Workshop on Data Management and Electronic Resource Management in Libraries (DERM 2014) as part of the INFORMATIK 2014 has its focus on the transition from traditional information systems in libraries to web infrastructure using semantic web and linked data technologies.

The workshop organized in cooperation between the Leipzig University of Applied Science (HTWK), the Leipzig University Library, the Institute for Applied Informatics e.V., the Saxon State and University Library and the Avantgarde Labs GmbH, addresses both data, knowledge and software engineers, as well users in the IT departments of libraries and information providers and other interested users.

In addition to the accepted talks,

  • Design and Implementation of a Library Metadata Management Framework and its Application in Fuzzy Data Deduplication and Data Reconciliation with Authority Data
    Martin Czygan
  • AMSL – Managing Electronic Resources for Libraries Based on Semantic Web
    Andreas Nareike, Natanael Arndt, Norman Radtke, Sebastian Nuck, Leander Seige, Thomas Riechert
  • Quantitative Analyses in Global and Area Studies using Graph-based Filtering of Heterogeneous Catalogue Data
    Thomas Efer, Ninja Steinbach-Hüther

are two keynotes and a panel discussion will take place, in cooperation with other workshops on semantic technologies.

  • Programming the Global Brain Semantic Web: Large-Scale Graph-based Human-Machine Computation
    Abraham Bernstein, Universität Zürich
  • Graphs, Language & Metadata – Where Semantics and BigData Intersect
    Valentin Zacharias, codecentric AG

More information and the full program can be found here:

http://aksw.org/Events/2014/DERM2014.

The semantics is unique in its kind in Europe and reflects the fact that semantic information systems are used more often. Linked Data applications and methods of the Semantic Web enables companies and big organizations to link information and to make it searchable.

http://www.semantics.cc

The conference was primarily organized this year by the research group Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web. In addition to the main conference, there will be various workshops and events in Paulinum the University of Leipzig from Monday to Wednesday. The pre-conference events are free of charge!

http://www.semantics.cc/programme/workshops/

The SEAMNTiCS addresses users from industry and administration as well as developers, researchers and consultants. With the slogan 'Transfer / Engineering / community' in numerous talks and workshops concrete applications for industries, such as pharmaceuticals, media and automotive industries that use Linked Data or text mining technologies, will be discussed.

The First DBpedia community meeting will be held at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam on 30 January 2014. The focus of the meeting in addition is on the use of DBpedia in different areas. In a break-out session on Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage questions regarding use of DBpedia in the context of libraries will be discussed in the afternoon.

Scientific work with digital media such as online publications and scientific databases, is leading to new areas of research and new methodological approaches. It expands research both through novel access method and a large amount of available information. One aspect is linking of such media and databases on the web using the Linked Open Data paradigm consequently, semantic interoperability can be achieved through an alignment of vocabularies in the context of each research domains.

The focus of the workshop is on vocabularies of different domains within the humanities and social sciences, its development and publication on the Web, as well as alignment methods. The workshop addresses both scientists in the field of humanities and social science, IT experts in libraries and computer scientists. ...continue reading CfP: Workshop on OWL vocabularies within the context of digital collaboration in research

  • September, 24th 2013
  • University of Leipzig
  • Thomas Riechert, Roland Bloch, Ulf Morgenstern

  • Scientific work with digital media such as online publications and scientific databases, is leading to new areas of research and new methodological approaches. It expands research both through novel access method and a large amount of available information. One aspect is linking of such media and databases on the web using the Linked Open Data paradigm consequently, semantic interoperability can be achieved through an alignment of vocabularies in the context of each research domains.

    The focus of the workshop is on vocabularies of different domains within the humanities and social sciences, its development and publication on the Web, as well as alignment methods. The workshop addresses both scientists in the field of humanities and social science, IT experts in libraries and computer scientists.

    http://aksw.org/Events/2013/DigitaleForschungskollaboration

    • Researchgroup AKSW – University Leipzig
    • Contact: Thomas Riechert
    • E-Mail: riechert@informatik.uni-leipzig.de

    ...continue reading Workshop on OWL vocabularies within the context of digital collaboration in research

    The network named Heloise is a scientific community for the study of European university history since mediaeval times, was founded in May 2012. The participating scientists and institutions look together for technical solutions (methods and tools) to support collaboration in the adding, editing and publication of data for digital archives and catalogues. ...continue reading Atelier Heloïse 2013 – European Workshop on Historical Academic Databases

    As part of the project "Development of a data management platform for Linked Open Library Data and Eletronic Resource Management" funded by the European Regional Development Fund, the AKSW research group is collaborating with scientists at the University Library in Leipzig and the Saxon State and University Library on the develop of a triple store based data management platform. We are looking for experience developers to join the team.

    http://dmp.slub-dresden.de
    http://aksw.org/Projects/ERM

    Working Group for "German professor catalogue" decides developing a comprehensive historical research system

    The working group "German professor catalogue" held a workshop on 18th of January at the University of Leipzig. The group is represented by scientists from Leipzig professor catalogue and sibling projects of other German universities. The most important decision was to work on a joint application for a first three-year externally funded project to develop a common "German professor catalogue" from the Reformation to the present. Cooperation partner of the University of Leipzig, are the Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, the University of Rostock and the Herzog August Library in Wolfenbüttel. The Herzog August Library in Wolfenbüttel is providing the professor catalogue of the former University of Helmstedt. The aim of the project is to integrate data of the participating institutions. The professor catalogues of individual universities remain local and scientific search can be made from a common search system.

    As academic career paths in the past, usually led through several stages, the new catalogue will provide a variety of stimuli for the history of science research. Thus, historians trace in future vocation paths, historic landscapes formation or development of academic disciplines. Furthermore, the data can be linked with other biographical resources on the Internet, about the New German Biography, various biographical regional portals and the bibliographic data of the German National Library. This networking will lead to a significant simplification of research and highlighting the not yet visible connections.

    In Leipzig in 2006, a team of historians of the chair of Modern History and computer scientists from the "Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web" research group started the Leipzig professor catalog "Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensium". This all Leipzig professors recognized since the founding of the University in 1409 and documented their career and their academic achievements.

    Professor at the German catalogue initiative also works the team of Prof. Dr. Oliver Auge of the Department of Regional History with emphasis on the history of Schleswig-Holstein in the Middle Ages and early modern times, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel. These give rise to the 350-year anniversary of the founding of the university in 2015, an online catalogue of all the professors of the period 1919-1965. Founded in 1419 the University of Rostock took their upcoming anniversary as an opportunity to develop a catalogue of all their professors (Catalogus Professorum Rostochiensium), which is mostly already online. The Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel owns a large part of the tradition of the former University of Helmstedt and offers a portal with information about professors, courses, students and university publications of the once busy university.

    The "German professor catalogue" should form the central prosopographical platform for the German higher education landscape of the modern era.

    Contacts are

    Websites the professor catalogues:

    The planed catalogue:

    http://www.deutscher-professorenkatalog.uni-kiel.de

    An overview of the version history of the OntoWiki project. Your comments, additions to the table and stories of personal experiences with OntoWiki are welcome :-).

    Version Veröffentlichung Plugin-Support Repository Announcement
    Powl_OntoWiki 0.94 2006-11-07 - Sourceforge.net Announcement
    Powl_OntoWiki 0.95 2007-03-13 - Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.6 2007-04-29 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.7 2007-07-21 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.7.1 2007-08-16 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.8.5 2008-06-10 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.8.6 2008-09-08 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.9 2009-08-06 Ja code.google.com Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.9.5 2010-06-14 Ja code.google.com Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.9.6 2011-09-01 Ja github.com

    The Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE) and the Jean Monnet Chair in History of European Integration and its Research Programme ‘Digital Humanities Luxembourg' -DIHULUX (research unit Identités-Politiques-Sociétés-Espaces [IPSE]), organised the DHLU Symposium 2012.

    This Symposium addressed both methodological aspects and the theoretical and institutional implications of the public dissemination of research results, focusing on digitised and online published sources as well as on websites themselves, which will be analysed as born digital sources. The potential of this innovative research approach was also be explored and emphasised.

    Together with Christian Rau, we presented the Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis.
    The talk is available online.

    During the Symposium participation on twitter was very high....

Der Workshop Datenmanagement und Management elektronischer Ressourcen in Bibliotheken (DERM 2014) im Rahmen der INFORMATIK 2014 thematisiert den Übergang von traditionellen Informationssystemen zu einer auf dem Linked Data Web aufbauenden Infrastruktur in Bibliotheken.

Der in einer Kooperation zwischen der Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig, der Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig, dem Institut für Angewandte Informatik e.V., der Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden und der Avantgarde Labs GmbH organisierte Workshop adressiert gleichermaßen Daten-, Knowledge-, Software-Engineers und Anwender in den IT-Abteilungen von Bibliotheken sowie Informationslieferanten und weitere interessierte Anwender.

Neben den Beiträgen,

  • Design and Implementation of a Library Metadata Management Framework and its Application in Fuzzy Data Deduplication and Data Reconciliation with Authority Data
    Martin Czygan
  • AMSL – Managing Electronic Resources for Libraries Based on Semantic Web
    Andreas Nareike, Natanael Arndt, Norman Radtke, Sebastian Nuck, Leander Seige, Thomas Riechert
  • Quantitative Analyses in Global and Area Studies using Graph-based Filtering of Heterogeneous Catalogue Data
    Thomas Efer, Ninja Steinbach-Hüther

wird es in Kooperation mit weiteren Workshops zu semantischen Technologien zwei Keynotes und eine Paneldiskussion geben.

  • Programming the Global Brain Semantic Web: Large-Scale Graph-based Human-Machine Computation
    Abraham Bernstein, Universität Zürich
  • Graphs, Language & Metadata – Where Semantics and BigData Intersect
    Valentin Zacharias, codecentric AG

Weitere Informationen, sowie das komplette Programm, finden Sie hier:

http://aksw.org/Events/2014/DERM2014.

Die SEMANTiCS ist in ihrer Art in Europa einzigartig und trägt dem Umstand Rechnung, dass in den letzten Jahren immer häufiger semantische Informationssysteme zum Einsatz kommen. Linked Data Anwendungen und Methoden des Semantic Web helfen Unternehmen und vernetzten Organisationen Informationen besser zu vernetzen und auffindbar zu machen.

http://www.semantics.cc

Die Konferenz wurde dieses Jahr maßgeblich durch die Forschungsgruppe Agile Knowledge Engineering and Semantic Web organisiert. Neben der Hauptkonferenz wird es von Montag bis Mittwoch verschiedene Workshops und Veranstaltungen im Paulinum der Universität Leipzig geben. Die Veranstaltungen der Vorkonferenz sind kostenfrei!

http://www.semantics.cc/programme/workshops/

Die SEAMNTiCS spricht Anwender aus Industrie und Verwaltung gleichermaßen an wie Entwickler, Forscher und Berater. Unter dem Motto ‘Transfer / Engineering / Community’ wird im Rahmen zahlreicher Vorträge und Diskussionsrunden z.B. beleuchtet, welche konkrete Anwendungen für Branchen wie Pharma, Medien oder Automobilindustrie mit Hilfe von Linked Data oder Text Mining bereits implementiert werden konnten bzw. zukünftig generiert werden können.

Am 30. Januar 2014 findet an der Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam das Erste DBpedia Community Meeting statt. Im Fokus des Treffens stehen neben wissenschaftlichen Fragen die Anwendung von DBpedia in verschieden Bereichen. Am Nachmittag werden u.a. in einer Break-Out Session zum Thema Exploring the connection of DBpedia to Library and Cultural Heritage Fragen zur Nutzung von DBpedia im Kontext von Bibliotheken diskutiert.

Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten mit digitalen Medien wie Onlinepublikationen und wissenschaftliche Datenbanken erweitert die bisherigen Forschungsgebiete und führt zu neuen Untersuchungsfeldern. Neuartige Zugangsverfahren und der Umfang an verfügbaren Informationen verändern das methodische Vorgehen und ermöglichen neuartige Zugänge. Ein Aspekt stellt dabei die Verknüpfung von Medien und Datenbanken im Web mittels des Linked Open Data Paradigma dar. Eine semantische Interoperabilität kann über eine Angleichung von Vokabularen im Kontext der Forschungsdomänen erreicht werden. ...Weiterlesen CfP: Workshop OWL-Vokabulare im Kontext digitaler Forschungskollaboration

  • 24. September 2013
  • Universität Leipzig
  • Thomas Riechert, Roland Bloch, Ulf Morgenstern, Alexander Mitterle

  • Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten mit digitalen Medien, wie Onlinepublikationen und wissenschaftliche Datenbanken, führt zu neuen Forschungsfeldern und neuen methodischen Vorgehen. Sie erweitern Forschungsgebiete sowohl durch neuartige Zugangs-verfahren und durch einen großen Umfang an verfügbaren Informationen. Ein Aspekt stellt dabei die Verknüpfung solcher Medien und Datenbanken im Web mittels Linked Open Data Paradigma dar. Eine damit einhergehende semantische Interoperabilität kann über eine Angleichung von Vokabularen im Kontext der Forschungsdomänen erreicht werden. ...Weiterlesen Workshop OWL-Vokabulare im Kontext digitaler Forschungskollaboration

    Das Netzwerk mit dem Namen Heloise ist es eine wissenschaftliche Community zur Erforschung der Europäischen Universitätsgeschichte seit dem Mittelalter, und wurde im Mai 2012 gegründet. Die teilnehmenden Wissenschaftler und Institutionen suchen nach technischen Lösungen (Methoden und Werkzeuge) zur Unterstützung der Zusammenarbeit in der Erstellung, Bearbeitung und Publikation von Daten und digitalen Archiven. ...Weiterlesen Atelier Heloïse 2013 – European Workshop on Historical Academic Databases

    Im Rahmen des Projekt "Entwicklung einer Datenmanagement-Plattform für Linked Open Library Data und Eletronic Resource Management" gefördert aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung wird die Arbeitsgruppe AKSW bis August 2014 gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftlern der Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig und der Sächsischen Landes- und Universitätsbibliothek eine auf einem Tripel-Store basierende Datenmanagement-Plattform entwickeln.

    http://dmp.slub-dresden.de
    http://aksw.org/Projects/ERM

    Arbeitsgemeinschaft „Deutscher Professorenkatalog“ beschließt Entwicklung eines umfassenden historischen Recherchesystems

    An der Universität Leipzig tagte am 18. Januar die Arbeitsgemeinschaft „Deutscher Professorenkatalog“. Vertreten waren neben den Betreibern des Leipziger Professorenkatalogs Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Geschwisterprojekten anderer deutscher Universitäten. Wichtigster Beschluss war die gemeinsame Beantragung eines zunächst auf drei Jahre angelegten Drittmittelprojekts zur Entwicklung eines gemeinsamen „Deutschen Professorenkatalogs“ von der Reformation bis zur Gegenwart. Kooperationspartner der Universität Leipzig sind dabei die Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel und die Universität Rostock sowie die Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel, die den Professorenkatalog der ehemaligen Universität Helmstedt einbringt. Ziel des Projekts ist die Zusammenführung der Daten der beteiligten Institutionen. Die Professorenkataloge der einzelnen Universitäten bleiben dabei erhalten und können vom gemeinsamen Recherchesystem aus aufgerufen werden.

    Da akademische Karrierewege schon in der Vergangenheit meist über mehrere Stationen führten, wird der neue Gesamtkatalog vielfältige Impulse für die wissenschaftsgeschichtliche Forschung erbringen. So können Historiker in Zukunft Berufungswegen, historischen Bildungslandschaften oder der Entwicklung akademischer Disziplinen nachspüren. Darüber hinaus sollen die Daten mit weiteren biographischen Ressourcen im Internet verknüpft werden, etwa mit der Neuen Deutschen Biographie, den verschiedenen biographischen Regionalportalen sowie den bibliographischen Daten der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek. Diese Vernetzung wird zu einer erheblichen Vereinfachung der Recherche sowie dem Aufzeigen bislang nicht sichtbarer Zusammenhänge führen.

    In Leipzig arbeitet seit 2006 ein Team aus Historikern des Lehrstuhls für Neuere und Neueste Geschichte und Informatikern der Arbeitsgruppe „Agile Knowledgement Engineering and Semantic Web“ am Leipziger Professorenkatalog „Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensium“. Dieser erfasst alle Leipziger Professoren seit der Gründung der Universität im Jahr 1409 und dokumentiert ihren Werdegang und ihre wissenschaftlichen Leistungen.

    Am Deutschen Professorenkatalog arbeitet initiativ auch das Team von Prof. Dr. Oliver Auge vom Lehrstuhl für Regionalgeschichte mit Schwerpunkt zur Geschichte Schleswig-Holsteins in Mittelalter und Früher Neuzeit der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel mit. Dort entsteht zum 350-jährigen Jubiläum der Universitätsgründung im Jahre 2015 ein Onlinekatalog sämtlicher Professoren des Zeitraums 1919-1965. Auch die 1419 gegründete Universität Rostock nahm ihr anstehendes Jubiläum zum Anlass zur Entwicklung eines Katalogs ihrer sämtlichen Professoren (Catalogus Professorum Rostochiensium), der zum größten Teil bereits online ist. Die Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel besitzt einen großen Teil der Überlieferung der ehemaligen Universität Helmstedt und bietet ein Internetportal mit Informationen zu Professoren, Lehrveranstaltungen, Studenten und Hochschulschriften der einstmals hochfrequentierten Universität an.

    Der „Deutsche Professorenkatalog“ soll die zentrale prosopographische Plattform für die deutsche Hochschullandschaft der Neuzeit bilden.

    Ansprechpartner sind

    Homepages der Professorenkataloge:

    Der Gesamtkatalog:

    Eine Übersicht über die Versionsgeschichte des OntoWiki-Projektes. Über Kommentare, Erweiterungen der Tabelle und Geschichten von persönlichen Erlebnissen mit OntoWiki freue ich mich jederzeit 🙂 .

    Version Veröffentlichung Plugin-Support Repository Announcement
    Powl_OntoWiki 0.94 2006-11-07 - Sourceforge.net Announcement
    Powl_OntoWiki 0.95 2007-03-13 - Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.6 2007-04-29 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.7 2007-07-21 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.7.1 2007-08-16 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.8.5 2008-06-10 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.8.6 2008-09-08 Ja Sourceforge.net Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.9 2009-08-06 Ja code.google.com Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.9.5 2010-06-14 Ja code.google.com Announcement
    OntoWiki 0.9.6 2011-09-01 Ja github.com

    Das Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE) und der Jean Monnet Lehrstuhl für Geschichte der Europäischen Integration und das Forschungsprogramm ‘Digital Humanities Luxembourg' - DIHULUX (research unit Identités-Politiques-Sociétés-Espaces [IPSE]), organisierte vom 20.-21.03.2012 das DHLU Symposium 2012.

    Das Symposium adressiert sowohl methodische Aspekte und die theoretischen und institutionellen Auswirkungen der öffentlichen Verbreitung von Forschungsergebnissen aus digitalisierten und online veröffentlichte Quellen, sowie auf Webseiten. Das Potential dieser innovativen Forschungsansatz wird ebenfalls untersucht und hervorgehoben.

    Zusammen mit Christian Rau haben wir den Catalogus Professorum Lipsiensis präsentiert.
    Der Vortrag ist hier verfügar.

    Während des Symposiums wurde viel getwittert...