On land, on water and in the air - in 2016 the dresdner schmalfilmtage hew off wheels of the car and look out for the migration and collection movements of the 20th and 21st centuries.
What follows 240 years after the Declaration of Independence on the wake-up call GO WEST, which was followed by millions Europeans? What follows on war, Arabellion and Fortress Europe?

The festival search for clues in Paris, Athens, Hamburg. It illuminated war conditions, architecture, new and old spatial utopias and connects the haptic pictures with the idea of Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité.

The current research project AWIP was presented at the open innovation conference, on November, 29th. AWIP is a cooperative project between the Medienservice Annett Riechert, the art-house cinema UT Connewitz e.V. and the AKSW research group. The conference was organized by the city of Leipzig within the Creative Cities project.

More about the project:

Other projects:

As one of the celebrations of its 100th anniversary the UT Connewitz shows the fascination of cinemas in the form of an exhibition. The topics bundling through the history of UT Connewitz, range from the development of cinema art to the work of the UT Connewitz e.V. association. Centrepiece of the presentation are cinematographic projectors from all eras of the past 100 years, collected by Otto Semmler.

During the exhibition I will be present at the UT from September, 8th to September, 10th. I will explain the projectors and like to prepare and project 35mm movie trailers, together with visitors.

More Informationen at UT Connewitz e.V.

Event tip: Claus Löser: Subversion on Super 8 - Counter-images in the GDR
Wednesday 21 March at 8pm

As part of the 100th anniversary program of the UT Connewitz in Leipzig

International avant-garde filmmakers have been known in the GDR only at best hearsay. However, there was formed from the mid-seventies, an experimental film scene that developed away from the DEFA and TV a radically subjective style and attitude that moved into the official doctrine of Socialist Realism. Who were the protagonists of the cine-film-substrate, the conditions under which they shot their films and what the artists were subjected to repression, the cine film activist and film historian Claus Löser will examine in detail.

For the presentation and the subsequent short-film program, he opens his film archive in which all the glued, scratched, performten, surreal and melancholy are treasures that have not been confiscated or destroyed.

Claus Löser cinema owners, film historian and filmmaker. In 1996 he founded the ex.oriente.lux film archive. Among its key activities e.g. the politicization of the film, the underground film scene and the nonconformist art in the GDR.

Zu Lande, zu Wasser und in der Luft – 2016 schlagen die dresdner schmalfilmtage die Räder ab vom Wagen und halten Ausschau nach den Wanderungs- und Sammlungsbewegungen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.
Was folgt 240 Jahre nach der amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitserklärung auf den Weckruf GO WEST, dem Abermillionen Europäer folgten? Was auf Krieg, Arabellion und Festung Europa?

Das Festival begibt sich auf Spurensuche in Paris, Athen, Hamburg. Es beleuchtet Kriegszustände, Architektur, neue und alte Utopien des Raums und schaltet die haptischen Bilder mit der Idee von Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité kurz.

Am 29.11.2012 wurde das aktuelle Forschungsprojekt AWIP auf der Konferenz Open Innovation vorgestellt. AWIP ist ein Kooperationsprojekt zwischen dem Medienservice Annett Riechert, dem UT Connewitz e.V. und der Arbeitsgruppe AKSW. Die Konferenz wurde durch die Stadt Leipzig im Rahmen Projektes Creative Cities organisiert.

Mehr zum Projekt:

Weitere Projekte:

Anlässlich seines 100-jährigen Jubiläums zeigt das UT Connewitz die Faszination „Lichtspieltheater“ in Form einer Ausstellung. Thematische Bündelungen führen durch die Geschichte des UT Connewitz, von der Entwicklung der Kinotechnik bis zur Arbeit des Vereins. Kernstück bildet die Präsentation von Filmprojektoren des aus allen Epochen der letzten 100 Jahren, aus der Sammlung Kinematographen Liebhabers Otto Semmler.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung bin ich vom 8. bis 10. September im UT anzutreffen und werde neben Erläuterungen zu den Projektoren gemeinsam mit den Besuchern kurze 35mm Filme einlegen und projizieren.

Weiter Informationen unter UT Connewitz e.V.

Veranstaltungstipp: Claus Löser: Subversion auf Super 8. Gegenbilder in der DDR
Mittwoch, 21. März, 20.00 Uhr

Im Rahmen des 100jährigen Bestehens des UT Connewitz in Leipzig

Internationale Avantgardefilmer kannte man in der DDR allenfalls vom Hörensagen. Dennoch bildete sich dort ab Mitte der siebziger Jahre eine Experimentalfilmszene, die abseits von DEFA und Fernsehen eine radikal subjektive Bildsprache entwickelte und damit Haltung gegen die Staatsdoktrin des sozialistischen Realismus bezog. Wer die Protagonisten dieses Schmalfilm-Untergrundes waren, unter welchen Bedingungen sie ihre Filme drehten und welchen Repressionen die KünstlerInnen ausgesetzt waren, wird der Schmalfilmaktivist und Filmhistoriker Claus Löser ausführlich beleuchten.

Für den Vortrag und das anschließende Kurzfilmprogramm öffnet er sein Filmarchiv, in dem all die geklebten, gekratzten, performten, surrealen und melancholischen Schätze liegen, die nicht beschlagnahmt oder zerstört wurden.

Claus Löser ist Kinobetreiber, Filmhistoriker und Filmemacher. 1996 gründete er das ex.oriente.lux-Filmarchiv. Zu seinen Arbeitsschwerpunkten zählen u.a. die Politisierung des Films, der Underground-Film und die unangepasste Kunstszene in der DDR.